dear you,
let me tell you about my yesterday.
it doesn't bother you that all my posts are about the previous day does it?
i hope not.
anyways,
sudha and her husband, suvash (pronounced suvas) came to the house and brought an outfit for me to wear.
i ended up being very sparkly :)
sudha likes doing beautician stuff so she insisted on doing my hair and makeup too, which was very generous.
she had a gorgeous sari on that was a pinker red and had gold and green details.
~when i upload pictures from my digital camera, as opposed to my iPod, i'll post them, don't worry~
we had awhile until we had to go tho, so we went on the computer and became facebook friends!
lina found the photo booth on my computer and had way too much fun with the effects.
she's a silly, VERY energetic girlie.
when we got to the venue, there were colors everywhere!
there was a little makeshift tent thing with a bunch of food on platters and fire in the middle for all the rituals.
no one is sitting nicely and watching the bride and groom, they're all crowded right up in front of them.
it works out tho because for forever, whoever wants to can come up and wash the couple's feet and give them money and put tika (spelling?) on their foreheads.
hindu weddings last for like 6 hours!
fortunately for the guests, there is lots of food to eat while you're hanging around.
when i get my other photos up, you'll see that this particular bride looked very very unhappy the entire time.
it was actually kinda funny...
halfway through the bride has to go change from a sari from her family to a sari that her husband's family brought.
that took forever, so sudha, suvash, sumit and i went to the food tent and ate more.
oh goodness i felt like i was going to explode!
when the bride finally came out again i thought the ceremony would be done soon.
i was wrong.
they have a bunch of throwing stuff in the fire, reading things really fast, walking around the little makeshift tent and throwing various things.
a really funny tradition is that the bride and groom's families stand on respective sides behind the couple with a piece of fabric between them.
then they proceed to have a game of tug-o-war!
the winner determines what gender the couple's first child will be.
bride's family wins = girl.
groom's family wins = boy.
it got pretty intense and the families basically made a dogpile on top of the couple because they were dragging each other all over the place!
it was pretty entertaining.
with the wedding finally over after 6 hours, we stuffed ourselves in the car and went home.
goma tried to make us eat more.
she put plates in front of us but we all gave them to sumit.
he's a skinny 17 year old, but somehow he ate more than all of us at the wedding and at 4 plates of our unwanted rice.
i have no idea where it goes.
anyways, i'd like to say we had our own party after that but we were so tired that sudha and suvash left on their motorcycle and i went to bed.
it's amazing how tiring standing around and sitting and eating will make you!
it was good to sleep for so long tho.
this morning i got to skype my mommy, which was fabulous.
i really miss my people.
a lot :(
but i have a job for today which is exciting.
lila wants me to go over to the orphanage (finally!) and see what i can see.
then i'm to make a brochure reporting what i found.
they're starting a new initiative of raising $1 every week for the orphanage.
it's so little, yet it would help a lot.
i hope it really catches on and they get much more than that.
$1 a week is piddly compared to how much money we have and could give for a good cause.
GIVE TO LILA'S ORGANIZATION!
sorry. it's just such a good thing.
they're in a really tight financial spot because the government keeps raising the price of everything.
some of the kids who have relatives somewhere are being sent back to stay with them because the orphanage can't support them anymore.
it's really sad.
the saddest part is that it's totally preventable.
anyways, i'll stop preaching and go do something productive.
love,
me



No comments:
Post a Comment