yesterday was a crazy day!
it was three things in one:
army day.
everyone is allowed to smoke pot day.
lord shiva's birthday.
sudha and suvash came over in the morning and we all sat in the sunshine, which was nice after being in the cold house.
suvash was trying to play a mario game on the laptop, but it didn't work out too well because it was too bright.
| lina and suvash trying to play mario in the sun :) |
the lotion that sudha lent me...
well, just see for yourself.
definitely NOT helping my cause...
anyways, there were lots of helicopters flying overhead for the demonstration/parade that the army was putting on for army day.
they've been practicing for awhile so i'm sure it was great.
we didn't go because the roads are crazy.
children hold ropes across the road and charge fees to let cars pass!
sudha said they paid at least 25 rupees to get from their house, 5 minutes away.
we thought about going out and doing it too just for fun, but it's mostly for little kids, so we didn't want to look stupid.
besides, for the next 2 weeks, apparently anyone walking on the street is at risk for a water ballooning.
it was also smoke as much pot as you want day, which i obviously didn't participate in.
i saw pictures from yesterday of all the holy men covered in ashes, wandering around in their wonderfully trippy state :P
![]() |
| nothing like some pot in the morning! |
it's really hard.
and i was embarassed.
so it didn't last long :P
the evening is when the real party started.
i fell asleep on the couch, and when i was woken up, a bunch of the orphanage kids were outside.
before dark we had prepared a candle symbol thing for lord shiva and a bonfire and a flower garland you can see on the shrine thing, and now it was all lit and looked great in the darkness.
| lighting the oil pots |
the symbol is an ohm (spelling?) that represents lord shiva or something.
it's made from 108 bowls of oil with wicks.
i tried to figure out why 108 is the least amount you can do, but they just said that's what lord shiva wants.
weird.
the kids started singing and clapping around the bonfire, which was so cute!
--i'm putting all my videos on facebook because it doesn't work on blogger for some reason--
we gave each of them a little tray with rice pudding, grapes, and some other stuff that no one could explain to me but tasted pretty good.
after they ate, they all wanted water so sudha brought a jug out and they all stood in line for her to pour some in their mouths.
it was so cute, and kinda funny.
i have pics of all this on my real camera, but as always, you'll have to wait.
sorry :/
| i think there's something so fascinating about fire |
the kids were happy, we were happy, and i'm sure they were all hoping that lord shiva was happy.
i stayed by the fire for awhile after the kids left because i love watching it, but then they called me in for more food.
of course :P
i've also made a decision.
nepali culture is very laid back, and i think that's why i haven't been doing much of anything.
so on the days when the kids go to school, i'm going to go over to the orphanage after they get back and see if they need help with their homework.
i was under the impression that i came to work with/help the kids, so that's what i'm going to do.
no more sulking in the house.
it's gonna be hard, cuz i'm a kindof awkward, shy person around people i don't know, but hopefully God will give me the words and the spirit of service to get over myself.
at least that's what i'm praying for :)
well, i'm being called to breakfast.
love,
me
| :) |

No comments:
Post a Comment